Enter your email address and start getting breaking law firm and legal news right now!
|Free Market Evaluation - Send us your resume and we will give you free feedback|
Arkansas Has Failure to Vacate Law for Tenants View Count: 349
The state of Arkansas is the only state left in the country that does not require its landlords to maintain their properties or make repairs when needed. This makes it very hard on tenants in the state. Arkansas is also the only state in the country that will fine, prosecute and jail tenants who do not pay their rent on-time.
Within the state of Arkansas, more than 2,000 people are are charged under the Arkansas Failure to Vacate Law each year. The law in Arkansas was passed at the start of the last century as an easy way to evict tenants who did not pay their rent. The eviction process can be initiated by a tenant if the rent is even one day late and tenants have just 10 days to vacate the property.
Fines can be up to $100 per day that the tenant stays in the property and up to 90 days in jail for not adhering to the eviction notice. Tenants in Arkansas are required to pay rent even if their tenants do not make repairs or upgrades to the property where they are living. The state is the second poorest in the country and 18 percent of residents who are below the poverty line are finding themselves in the criminal justice system for Failure to Vacate.
Take a look at the video in this post and leave your comments at the bottom of the page.
Need better jobs to pay your bills? Visit Granted.com for latest openings in Arkansas.Arkansas Has Failure to Vacate Law for Tenants by Jim Vassallo
|Job of the Day|
Workers' Compensation Defense Attorney
Cuneo, Black, Ward & Missler is seeking an associate attorney for our Sacramento office. Interested applicants should have a minimum of two (2) years’ experience in the defense of Workers&...